Guadalupe River State Park

When I think of summertime in Texas, there are several rivers that immediately come to mind.  Among my favorites are Medina River, Comal River, Frio River, and The Guadalupe.  I have heard South Llano River is well worth the trip and one we plan to take later this summer for the first time.  When the temperatures were warm enough for tubing, we took a trip to Guadalupe River State Park.  This park is tucked away in the Texas Hill Country between Blanco and San Antonio. If you find yourself in the Texas Hill Country, don’t miss the opportunity to visit, or even better, set up camp for a while.  On our way to the park, I envisioned myself hanging out by the river reading my book.  Instead, I found myself staring at and listening to the river for hours.

We arrived Friday afternoon and pitched our tent in the Wagon Ford Walk In Campsite Loop.  The campsites at the end of the loop are more spacious and surrounded by trees which give them a secluded feel.   Although the park was booked for the entire weekend, our campsite was quiet and felt worlds away from civilization.   The walk-in or hike-in sites are becoming my favorite areas in most campgrounds to set up camp.  It requires a little more planning and effort, but the reward is experiencing nature more and my neighbors less. Nature is what pulls me out there, so it’s worth it to me to go out a little further.  I’m learning the importance of becoming a minimalist, though, which I am convinced will only improve everything.

The trail to our campsite

Wagon Ford Walk In Tent Area

Our campsite

 On the second morning of our stay, I took a hike down the trail behind our campsite.  The trail disappeared quickly with overgrowth and I almost turned around, but decided to keep moving forward, hearing the water in the distance.  I’m glad I did.

The nights were cool and the days were warm.  We spent our days down by the river, swimming and tubing.  There is a large day use area down by the river.  We took a picnic and a few chairs and set up under a cluster of bald cypress trees along the riverbanks.  Occasionally, we would hike upstream with our tubes and float back down to our spot.

Although not high in adventure, this trip was just what we needed at the time.  A couple of lazy summer days spent on the banks of the river.  Summer makes an early appearance in Texas.  Although it wasn’t officially summer yet, the thermometer had it’s own opinion on the matter.  I was concerned it would be too hot to sleep, but the nights were cool enough to need blankets.  When we camp here again, we plan to visit the nearby Honey Creek State Natural Area.  Entry to the area is only permitted with a guided interpretive hike which focuses on the history and geology of the area.  Although I am sure the hike is beautiful, I have a feeling our favorite place will still be underneath a cypress tree, on the banks of the river.

9 thoughts on “Guadalupe River State Park”

  1. Wow! Looks like you guys are getting the hang of it!
    I LOLed at the part where you thought you were going to read your book.

    I took a book with me once. lol

    What’s funnier is when you try to explain to someone that, no really, all I did was sit and look, and listen, and just take it all in…for hours at a time. There’s always that one person that states they would go crazy just sitting doing nothing… They have no idea… When I run into that person, I always leave that conversation thinking, Them: 0 – Me: 1 – without even arguing about it.

    It’s great to see you guys starting to figure out what’s essential on these trips, and what can be left in the vehicle or at home. Minimalism is a good thing, but one thing I found I can’t live without is one of these:

    http://www.rei.com/search?search=camp+chair&jxBrand=Therm-a-Rest&hist=query%2Ccamp+chair%5EjxBrand%2CTherm-a-Rest

    I’ve had mine for over 10 years. It’s not inflatable, but it is padded and it really does the trick when seating is limited to granite or dirt and rocks. And being able to lean back and be comfortably supported after carrying a pack all day is a priceless commodity.

    Looking forward to reading about more of your adventures!

    Happy Trailing!

    1. Ha ha, I literally thought, well, that’s one thing I can do to lighten my load! I don’t really need a book out there!

      You are so right! I can’t tell you how many times people have asked me, “What do you do out there for all of that time?” My answer is always, “As little as possible! Otherwise, I might miss it!”

      It’s been a while since we’ve been camping. The temps here are 103 every day for most of the day and it’s been very dry here. I have a trip planned for September. I’ve really missed it. I can tell a difference in my mood when I can’t get out there for any length of time. I’m working on writing about our Colorado trip now. No camping on that trip, but lots and lots of trails. I really miss it!

      Thank you for the link, and just in time! We are taking our first backpacking trip together in November. Just two nights to get the feel of it. I’m looking forward to it!

  2. Oh, please do post about your Colorado trip. I think I would cool off just reading it. Lol
    We went to Rocky Mtn NP in late June and stayed in Estes Park……the wifey doesn’t like to rough it. Took four different day hikes and loved it.
    Colorado appears to be the summer meeting place for us Texans.

    1. Ha ha! I know what you mean, Marty! I’ve spent the past few weeks wondering why I don’t just move to Colorado! August is brutal, isn’t it? Although today was nice, high only 92. It’s sad when that starts feeling cool! I will hopefully get that post up soon and maybe if you really concentrate, you’ll feel the 76 degree days and the 42 degree nights. I sure do miss it there. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

    1. Thank you so much and thanks for dropping by! I have had fun so far and I’m ready to get back out there again. I have a few trips planned for September if all goes well. I hope you get the chance to come to Texas sometime. It’s a great place to visit just about any time of year except July and August when it’s unbearably hot. If you decide to visit, let me know!

Leave a Reply

